JUCGES ARLES F. GEGEN CH JOHN J. DALY MARTIN J. MANSUR GERALD W. KALINA JACK A. MITCHELL

County Court

DIVISION 1 OF DAKOTA COUNTY

POST OFFICE BOX 365 COURTHOUSE / 4th and VERMILLION / HASTINGS, MINN. 55033 PHONE 437-3191 CLERK NICK VUJOVICH

CHIEF DEPUTY CLERK WILLIAM E. HEALY

CHIEF DEPUTY, DIVISION 1 ELEANOR CHARLTON

May 30, 1979

Mr. John C. McCarthy Clerk of the Supreme Court State Capitol St. Paul, Minnesota 55155

Re: Redistricting of County Courts in the Seventh Judicial District and the Ninth Judicial District

Dear Mr. McCarthy:

Enclosed herewith please find the recommendations of the redistricting subcommittee of the Judicial Planning Committee in the above matters for filing.

Very truly yours, ek

Gerald W. Kalina Judge of County Court

GWK:dp Enc. IN THE MATTER OF THE REDISTRICTING SUPREME COURT PROPOSAL FOR THE COUNTY COURTS OF THE FILED SEVENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT

JOHN McCARTHY

TO THE HONORABLE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

The subcommittee on court redistricting of the Judicial Planning Committee has considered the various proposals for the redistricting of the county courts within the Seventh Judicial District and recommends to the Supreme Court for its consideration the following proposal:

1. That there be a county court district consisting of the counties of Clay, Becker and Otter Tail.

2. That there be a county court district consisting of the counties of Douglas, Todd and Wadena.

3. That it is the position of the subcommittee that there has been insufficient public involvement as to the balance of the proposed plan for the Seventh District. The proposed plan submitted by the judges contemplates changes in the judicial district boundaries.

It is the request of the subcommittee that the Supreme Court authorize a commission to study this matter and conduct public hearings. The proposed commission would consist of a district court judge from the Seventh District and one from the Tenth District, a county court judge from each of the two districts, a county board member from each of the two districts, a member of the bar association from each of the two districts, and two lay persons from each of the districts. The lay persons on the the commission would be selected by the chief judge of the respective district. The other members would be selected by and from their respective associations. The commission would be chaired by a chairman elected by the commission, and Susan Saetre of the Judicial Planning Committee would act as staff person to assist the commission. It is contemplated that the commission would be formed no later than July 1, 1979, and would submit its final written report no later than October 15, 1979.

Because of possible election problems in Douglas, Todd and Wadena, it was felt that this district should be established as soon as possible. If this were accomplished there seems to be no reason not to proceed immediately to establish the district consisting of Clay, Becker and Otter Tail Counties.

DATED: May 30, 1979.

Respectfully Submitted,

Subcommittee on Court Redistricting of the Judicial Planning Committee,

Gerald W. Kali: Chairman